New Years Resolutions – or why the calander should not work as an incentive

As has probably become clear I have started a new blog on January 1st.  I did this because I felt like I had some things I wanted to write about and that while I had an afternoon free I started with WordPress (as recommended by the Wife, check her blog out).

I was speaking to a colleague at the printer about the blog (thanks for the compliment btw) and we ended up talking about whether or not the blog was a new years resolution. (I don’t remember the exact route but I think I started it).

It’s not a new years resolution is the crux of it. It’s a new project and it started on January 1st (the first post was even related to the new year) but it wasn’t intended as a new years resolution, I don’t really make them. My colleague agreed, she occurs to me to be a resolute and decisive person but we mused out how new years resolutions are not the way forward.

I hold the idea that if there is something you want to do, then take steps to do it when you want to. If there is something you want to change, change it now! It might not always be that easy of course, but I can’t see what makes it easier to do on January 1st, rather than any other day. I don’t want to make light of those who do find it helpful, I would just love to understand why this is the case.

My experience of January is a little different from the optimistic renewal that some people find it to be. The weather is at its worst, bank balances tend to stretch from the over indulgence of the celebration period and most people are slowly and reluctantly dragging themselves from several days of pyjamas, gravy, leftover chocolate variety boxes and let’s face it, booze. The last thing I feel like doing on that date is to try and go on a health kick or take up a new exercise.  I can’t help but draw the conclusion that it’s not so much the sense of renewal that people talk about but rather an attempt to compensate for the extra indulgence, the challenge is, will that stick beyond the first month?

Perhaps you can give some feedback on this reader, I would like of course to hear some interesting new years resolutions you have made to kick off 2017, but I would be even more interested to hear your stories on new years resolutions from last year, both good and bad.

As for the blog, well I will keep writing as long as people keep reading. I have enjoyed some nice feedback so far so thank you, but the posts will slow down.  The idea of this first busy week is to make sure there are a few posts to look through so people can see the kind of thing I like to write, and so I get used to writing non-academically and non-work related things again. It’s been fun so far, so I’ll keep it up, perhaps a post every few days.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

